Emma Levensohn ’17 Selected As Maine’s Only 2017 Female All-American

This summer US Lacrosse recognized over 750 male and 900 female high school lacrosse players for their efforts on and off the field. In Maine, only one female player was selected as an All-American, and that was Hyde School’s Emma Levensohn ’17.

A US Lacrosse All-American is a player who exhibits superior skills and techniques and possesses exceptional game sense and knowledge. A US Lacrosse All-American is one of the best players in the United States, while also embodying excellent sportsmanship.

To become All-American, a student must be nominated by their coach. Coaches from all the teams in the region then vote on who will receive the designation.

“Coaching Emma was really a great privilege of mine for the last four years,” says her coach, Rich Truluck. “She was one of these kids who’s special– who comes across once in coach’s lifetime. It is not often you find a kid with both passion and skill. She’s one of the best players to ever play the game at Hyde. It was an honor to nominate her, and I couldn’t be more proud of what she has accomplished.”

Emma Levensohn '17
Emma Levensohn ’17

“I’m extremely honored to be the only girl chosen from Maine to receive the All-American award,” says Emma. “I am forever grateful for the coaching and guidance that I received at Hyde on and off the field as well as from my teammates. Receiving this does not speak to my individual work as much as it does to the amazing people that have mentored me and given me their patience and time along the way. Thank you to everyone who has helped me on this journey and continues to encourage me as I venture into a career in college athletics.”

Emma will be playing lacrosse at Hobart and William Smith Colleges in the fall.

Emma’s All-American plaque will join the wall in the Joseph Gauld Student Life Center at Hyde School alongside plaques from past Hyde All-American awardees including the most recent, Meddy Hurd (2004), Thomas Butterfield Bragg (2006), and Mike Box (2008).